Learnings

The three A’s

From awareness comes acceptance. From acceptance comes action. For the past few days, the three A’s – Awareness, Acceptance and Action – has been a recurrent theme as I meander my way through the everyday maze of life.

Lately, I have been trying to practice living in the now, particularly when the now is unpleasant. For instance in moments of anger, irritability, frustration, and stress. Instead of having knee jerk reactions and erupting like a volcano, which is nothing but disruptive,  I am teaching myself to feel and acknowledge the emotion. The few times I have been able to put this philosophy to practice, I realize that when I become aware of what I feel, I am able to move from a position of denial to that of acceptance. I am able to distance myself from the emotion and gain clarity around what’s causing it, making it easier to act on it.

This awareness, acceptance and action philosophy is humbling and empowering at the same time. It makes me realize that as a human I am susceptible to these emotions, and that as a human I am also capable of handling these emotions with grace.

The inspiration to practice this comes from Shubha, who lucidly writes about her journey to living in the present. Thank you for sharing your experiences Shubha.

Standard

6 thoughts on “The three A’s

  1. This is beautiful, Maha. This practice of staying in the now is so rich and full of opportunity. I’m thrilled to be of inspiration, and ditto. Your stories make me richer. It feels good to be of support, and be supported.

    Warmly,
    Subha

    • Maha says:

      UL – easier said than done though. But I intend to practice it going forward. Helps me take a step back and look at things in perspective.

Leave a Reply

