Kids, Little Moments, Milestones

A little bundle

She is here. My darling niece is here. Cute as a button, the little bundle was born on August 2nd and has all of us tap dancing to her tunes. Her entry into this world has made me an athai. One who is aspiring to be the world’s best athai ever.

In our family, becoming an athai comes with a set of privileges, the first of which is choosing a name for the little one. Needless to say, I was on the look out for a nice meaningful name right from when I was told that I am going to have a niece. The name found its way to me, it just happened. Ok, enough of the hype, want to know what name I picked for her. Shraddha. Say it a couple of times and you will fall in love with it like I did.

As a matter of fact, it’s not how the name sounds that caught my fancy, that’s a nice bonus, but what really prompted me to pick this name for her is the underlying meaning. I read the following in Eknath’s Easwaran’s Bhagavad Gita, and knew right away that I got what I wanted. Eknath says – “… the concept is Shraddha, and it’s nearest English equivalent is Faith. I have translated it as such, but Shraddha means much more. It is literally “that which is placed in the heart”: all the beliefs that we hold so deeply that we do not question them. It is the set of values, axioms, prejudices, and prepossessions that colors our perceptions, governs our thinking., dictates our responses, and shapes our lives without our ever being aware of its presence and power”, and he further says, “A person is what his Shraddha is”.

This is my own take on the name – Shraddha is your set of core values, the guiding principles that help you meander your way through life, is that one constant that holds you together at all times, everyday. Shraddha is what you choose it to be, and what you will become as a result of.

That being said, here’s wishing, kutty ponnu, our Shraddha, best and only the best that life has to offer forever and ever. God bless my darling.

Standard

8 thoughts on “A little bundle

  1. UL says:

    Sep 6? Really, my niece was born exactly a year ago… On my way to celeb her first right now… Congrats You…many many wishes to you and the family.. And what a lovely name… Beautiful pick…wanna write a ton on the name but since am on the road…am gonna push it off for another time- also caught up on all the other posts..ESP your India trip..I saw it happen right before my eyes…Ian gonna check out the book reco. Soon

    • Maha says:

      Shraddha was born on August 2nd, but it took me more than a month to jot it down here. Yeah, I am that fast! Please do come back and let me know more about what you want to say on the name – Shraddha. I would like to document it for my niece.

      Thanks for your comments on the other posts UL. Very nice to hear from you. Will hop over to your space.

  2. shy says:

    congratulations Athai. and welcome little Shraddha. May God bless you, now and always.
    caught up in my own world..therefore the sielnce/deleyed responses and my posts of my own 🙂

Leave a Reply

