Memories, People

My mom in six words

In honor of Mother’s Day, NPR posed a question in this article – How would you sum up your mom in six words? I didn’t have to think for long. The words simply came tumbling out of my mind..

Amma – if you are reading this, here’s a shout out to you. These are the six words that I would use to describe you – Strong, Supportive, Resilient, Dutiful, Content, and Smart.

When it comes to you and me, these are some of my favorite things -I like how you sign your emails with “love and blessings, amma”, that always lifts my spirits . I like to hear you get excited about your plants, flowers, fruits and trees, it makes me feel like I know you more as a person. I like to look for subtle clues in our conversations to sense what I can buy for you because I know you will never ask for anything. I like that you think that I am capable of handling challenges that get thrown my way, it makes me feel stronger. Happy Mother’s Day Amma. Loads of love to you.

Now my readers, your turn – how would you describe your mom in six words?

Standard

10 thoughts on “My mom in six words

  1. LG says:

    Beautiful, strong, charming, tasteful, bright and lively. Sadly for me, the word “dead” also comes up 😦
    Happy mother’s day.

  2. Devi says:

    Intelligent, diligent, Cleanliness freak, caring, savvy, strong.
    Hope your Mother’s Day was lovely and hope the boys spoilt you!!

  3. Murali says:

    I will sum up your mother only in one sentence …..
    I see my wife a mother in her ever since she entered my life 37 years back……..Ho..how fortunate am I !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Lavanya says:

    Good one Maha, after a wait of 2 months. I kept wondering why there were no recent posts after March. Hope you are doing good. Keep writing as we all love your narrations.

    • Maha says:

      Thank you Lavanya. I should get into the habit of writing more often. I miss writing. We are doing well. Hope it’s the same with you as well.

Leave a Reply

