Experiences, Holidays, Inspiration, Little Moments

Golu 2013

I meant to post a picture of our golu this year but somehow it slipped through the cracks. I know I am unfashionably late, nevertheless I wanted to record it here. If not for anything, next year I will check this post to make sure we do not disappoint our guests with a predictable set up.

golu 2013

The steps were made out of random tables and boxes. I like it that way as it gave a character to the golu. For someone who has never been into stuffed toys or dolls, I was amused at how much thrill I derived from arranging the bommais. In the picture, do you see a glowing image of Ganesha right before the bigger Ganesha bommai? It makes for an interesting story. It’s actually a candle holder that my brother and sister-in-law bought in an African store in Arkansas. How cool is that, huh?

Do you see a brown house on the left? That’s an adobe house (found in deserts) that Hari and Da made for a school project. Too bad we do not have a more close up picture of it. Can you see a house and a two beady eyes on top of it within the adobe premises? Well, that was our attempt at origami. The plan was to have origami based jungle that Hari and I would build. I think we underestimated the efforts it would involve, and by the time we realized it, it was too late.

This year, at dance class we lucked out. We performed for Sri Chakra Raja Simhasini song. If you get a chance, please do listen to this beautiful song. It is simply soul stirring. What a blessing to be able to offer a prayer in the form of dance!

Standard

Leave a Reply

