Memories

Guinness book of world records

The reading nook in Hari’s class has a copy of the Guinness book of world records, and the child is enamored of it. The book has sparked his ambition to do something groundbreaking and have his name featured in it. While he is still undecided about what record he wants to break, apparently juggling underwater crossed his mind!

There was a time when I too dared to dream of getting into the Guinness book of world records. I think I drew my inspiration from the Doordarshan show in the weekends. Curious to know what record I was aspiring to break? Ahem ahem, I wanted to be someone who can spit the farthest. I truly thought it was a dream worth aspiring for and even practiced it in the pazhakadai (back yard) during my summer vacation – stuffing water more than what my mouth could hold, spitting it with gusto, and measuring the distance to track my progress. Of course, the aspiration vanished as quickly as it had appeared.

I guess the Guinness book inspires us to think outside the box. Hey if not anything, a few decades down the lane it will give us much needed laughter on a tension packed week night.

Standard

Leave a Reply

