Uncategorized

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays

photo (1)

Since this year Thanksgiving was in the last weekend of November instead of last but one, it feels like the holiday season was shortchanged and Christmas just snuck up on us. We are expecting company tomorrow, so the boys and I rolled up our sleeves tonight for an early start to our Christmas tradition of baking cookies and brownies.

Hari was on the cusp of outgrowing Santa last year, and this year that he knows the secret behind Santa is official. Apparently kids just find out, that’s what I learnt from eavesdropping in one of the carpool conversations – “I wondered how Santa uses the same wrapping paper as my mom”, “I noticed my mom’s handwriting on the presents”. Hari said that the revelation made him a little sad, but there were others who were practical about it. “I am actually glad that I know it. I will not wonder how to prove to Santa that I have been good or how he keeps track of what I am doing.”

That being said, we did our usual things. We put up our Christmas tree the weekend after Thanksgiving. Decorating the tree with the kids is pure fun. Ram was super thrilled and actively participated in decking up the tree. Hari has volunteered to partner with us to keep up the story of Santa for Ram. I love how when Hari is growing out of a phase, Ram is growing into it. Tomorrow, we will track Santa, and have a mug of hot chocolate with marshmallows.

I hope you are enjoying the festivities and having a rested holiday season. Merry Chirstmas and Happy Holidays to you and yours.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays

  1. It is sort of sad when kids discover the secret of Santa. I used to tell my children that he “exists as long as you believe he does” … after that I think they were terrified they wouldn’t get any presents if they expressed their non-belief.

Leave a Reply

