Experiences, Health and fitness, Us

Detox update – day 1, and day 2

We survived day 1 and day 2 of the detox program. I woke up yesterday feeling sleep deprived, so had a rough start. But Da doing it along with me made a big difference. Plus the group is highly energetic and supportive, that went a long way in helping us stick to the basic plan. The toughest period for me has been from 2:30 to 5:00 P.M. when the craving for caffeine and sugar kicks in. I am not sure if I miss the caffeine or the ritual of making tea more. Apart from that, detoxing seems to be fairly manageable. Caught myself reaching out for kids’ leftover food and snacks. Pre-planning meals and not having forbidden food with easy access seem to be the key. Also received the following useful tips:

  • Start the day with lemon in lukewarm water. I am told that this gets rid of toxins in our body. We are adding a twist to it by having a spoonful of fenugreek sprouts.
  • We are encouraged to avoid plastics as much as possible. That was in my list of things to do, so this program will help me get my act together.
  • Got introduced to the concept called Oil pulling, which is essentially rinsing your mouth with raw sesame oil for 15 mins. Apart from killing germs, appears to be effective for sinus.

Tomorrow is Gluten Free Day. I didn’t factor that in my meal planning so I am giving it a pass unless I can wing it tomorrow with what I have.

Standard

Leave a Reply

