Hari Katha, Kids, Ram Leela

Summer updates

The first week of vacation, I lost my first child to play dates and sleepover. The child was over the moon immersing in the company of his buddies. The second week, he was enrolled in tennis camp and swim lessons for part of the day. The rest of the day was spent teaching himself to rollerblade, watching soccer world cup, reading, and generally finding joy in his company.

The second child did very well settling in his old day care while the mom and the caretaker had some starting trouble. I was surprised by how much Ram remembered from last year – “Mama, there is a lot of food in Sunny Sprouts, so let’s not pack snacks” “I will play with the fire engine and pretend food there.” Ram is enjoying himself at the daycare but is also looking forward to reopening of his preschool this week.

We are paying visits to the town pool this year. Hari couldn’t wait to use the diving board. “I was excited amma, but when I went closer I was scared. Then I pushed myself to dive in spite of it.” Yes child, that’s the secret to learning and growing – getting comfortable with discomfort and pushing yourself to aim higher than your reach, I thought to myself. Ram, on the other hand, is reluctant and extremely cautious around water. I can relate to that fear, since I am not a big fan of getting wet either.  So as parents, we will work with him on that discomfort, overcoming ours in the process.

Coach Hari has been coaching me to catch baseball with a mitt. We have been practicing for 10 mins every day and Hari seems to think I have come a long way…! “Mom, I think you are so good that you can coach pre-ball. And what I love about you is you play with a smile….”, and after a pause, he turns to me and asks “you were not faking that smile, were you?”  And it’s precisely for conversations like these that I make the effort to like something that I am totally indifferent about.

Hari and Ram are signed up for reading challenge at the library. For little Ram, the target is to read for 15 mins every day and fill up a square. Once he finishes 15 hours of being read to, he earns a toy. The child proudly dragged me to the bookshelf and pointed to a paper leaf on which his dad had written his name. “Look mama, my name is over there” The second we check out a book, he plonks himself on the near by couch and starts looking at the illustrations with a keen eye that is wonderstruck, developing the story in his head. And then he gets immensely curious, “Mama what do the words say here? can you please read it to me.” Tugs my heartstrings every single time. Hari’s challenge is to finish 10 books from different genres ranging from history to poetry during the break. He has not started working towards the challenge but he has been devouring the Lemony Snicket series since the start of the break.

On to third week.

Standard

Leave a Reply

