Uncategorized

Taming the monkey mind

Drafted on July 24th

I am typing this post seated comfortably in the Acela train, returning after a four-day business trip. The view outside is breathtaking. The lush green trees and the placid lakes are enticing me to stay in the present while the monkey mind is in steroids, wandering in a million directions, wanting to boil the ocean all at once.

Want to take a peek into the gazillion thoughts swirling in my head? Here it goes – I should catch up with work emails? May be I will do that after I check my gmail account? I have become tardy in my responses and I don’t like that. Why not open a tab simultaneously and catch up on FB gossip? And then take a look at news? And gosh how long it has been since I wrote something on my blog. So many things to write about. Tomorrow I should catch up with appa, amma and Sathya. What’s on our plate for the weekend? Plate reminds me of ice cream. Homemade ice cream at J’s house was yum, yum and yum. Should try my hands on making ice cream at home someday. Ha, Hari and Ram would love that and may be I can even enroll Hari to join Ram and me – can’t wait to cuddle up with the little tykes.  Shame on me for boarding the wrong train – that too one hour late– seriyana Sabathi naan! Well, atleast I boarded the right destination and the conductor did not shoo me out of the train or ask me for more money, something to be thankful about. Pavam Da, must not have had any downtime. But he is any day better with the kids than I am. I should be more focused tomorrow and be productive so work does not spill over the weekend. What camps and activities do kids have for next week? Half the summer is gone. God, really where does time go? Hmmm, now if only the internet connection was not as sporadic…

Now that the monkey mind got its share of attention, it’s tamer and calmer. So if you will excuse me, I have to power down my laptop and go savor the gorgeous sunset and watch the world zoom by as the train takes me home, sweet home. Tudlu, take care!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

