Uncategorized

LMT this week

This week is the calm before the storm. Emails regarding extra curricular activities are trickling in, and I spent a good portion of this evening entering the schedules in our calendar.  By the end of it, I was left with an acute case of dry mouth and cold feet.  But hey, once we throw our hat over the fence,  what choice do we have other than getting it, isn’t it? So, I am not sure how we are going to do it, do it we will  and learn from this experience. I am telling myself that we will work hard and party hard this year. With that consolation, how about I pivot to this week’s little moments. 

–  There was a small voice that attempted to coax me into not going to school on the first day. Hari is anyway going in school bus, he is going to be chatting with his friends, the parking is going to be so chaotic, so on and so forth –  the mind was conjuring up all sorts of excuses. I am glad I did not heed to it. It was a delight seeing the school teeming with life. Familiar faces and new members blending in to build a community. 

– Hari and Ram playing with a friend’s five-month old puppy, Ocean. It was endearing to see Hari fall in love with her. He simply couldn’t hold himself from petting her, playing with her, feeding her and snuggling with  her. From Ocean’s demeanor, it seemed like she considered Ram to be another puppy and she kept climbing on him, which Ram didn’t mind at all. For the first time, I felt like I understood why a pet can mean the world to his or her caretaker.

– “Mama Abby wears nail paint., can you paint my nails too?” asked Ram one evening. The day will come when he will declare with disdain that eww, nail polish is for girls only, and will stay away from it, but today it is a fantasy that I will happily indulge him in. 

Hari savoring the tofu-broccoli dish at the Chinese restaurant made me happy. For the longest time, Hari’s food choices were very limited. These days he is tolerating higher spice level, and is taking delight in new food choices.

Standard

Leave a Reply

