Introspection, Life

Overcoming inertia

Another weekend has flown by…! I would have thought about updating this blog atleast a 100 times, and would have drafted a minimum of 10 posts in my head, but thanks to good old inertia which has planted its stubborn feet, none of them came to light.  

How has the first 11 days of  the new year been for you all? After having a really relaxed winter break with friends, we got back to our routine last week, which was bitterly cold by the way in our part of the world. The Christmas tree is down in our house and so are the lights. One child in the house has been coughing incessantly and one adult was down with flu like symptoms. All these are harbinger of two tough winter months in our household. So yeah, winter is here, which is good because it means spring is around the corner.

I have been staying away from binging – the regular eating binging and FaceBook binging. About regular binging – I realized that the biggest drawback to gluttony and binging is I am eating without savoring because the taste buds have not had a chance to rest. So I am experimenting with less binging. Not dieting but less binging. Now on to the topic of FaceBook binging – the perils of working on a computer all day long is that I have ample opportunities to graze the land of internet, with FB being the most grazed about land. But after all the grazing is done, I don’t feel happy instead I start loathing myself more and more for the lack of discipline. I like FB, it has brought me closer to some friends, it allows me to share what I feel like sharing, I use it as a sounding board for ideas etc. I see value in it but I don’t think it deserves more than 15 mins of my day. So I get FB darshan once in the morning and once at night. And that feels just right…!

What else? what else? I was recommended to have two boxes of tissues when I checked out the book The Fault in Our Stars and the movie The Hundred Foot Journey from the library. The box of tissues were handy for the book but not so much for the movie, which just made me fall in love with the quaint French village. 

Closing this post with a Hari Katha and Ram Leela. We were lazing on our queen bed yesterday when Hari declared – “Amma is the most matured person in our house”. Now I have lived long enough with these kids to expect the unexpected. No sooner did Hari finish this comment, that Ram, who had no idea what the word “mature” meant, picked it up. “Yes anna, Amma is the most matured person in this house. She always thitties (scolds) us. Adi kadaikuum (want to be spanked?)”  Sigh..!!!

On that note, have a good week peeps!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Overcoming inertia

Leave a Reply

