Experiences, Health and fitness, Humor, Milestones

Dentist appointment

It took every ounce of willpower to not yield to the temptation to have the dentist appointment rescheduled. After years of using that tactic, I have learnt my lesson. You can reschedule once,  may be twice. But sooner or later, you have to face the music. Wear a plastic smile, be polite to the receptionist, say hello to the hygienist, exaggerate the truth behind your flossing, test your ability to be zen as all the unmentionable instruments poke and prod, and finally listen to the grim report that your dentist will deliver asking you to take care of a filling within the next month. Sigh!

This time I decided to bite the bullet  instead of buying more time to undo the undoable damage I may have done since my last appointment. But what do you know? A new hygienist, a new story this time around. “Fantastic, your teeth look great, we will see you in Nov.” Really? Seriously?  I had to pinch myself to make sure that this was not some kind of a dream. No filling? No deep cleaning? No predictions about root canals down the line? Maybe because this time they didn’t take the x-ray. Maybe because the hygienist spent more time polishing my teeth rather than cleaning them. Oh the never ending list of maybes that was going on in a loop in my mind!

Suffice to say I sprinted my way out of the office lest the dentist changed his mind.

Standard

Leave a Reply

