Uncategorized

Mother’s Day thoughts.

Of all the gifts that my mom has showered on me, letting me go with confidence and grace has been the greatest gift of all. Now that I am a parent I realize how difficult that must have been. Thanks ma, for all the unconditional love and the unwavering confidence.

My favorite book on mommy love is the Runaway Rabbit. It’s a story of a bunny who wants to take different forms so he can run away from his mom. But the mom always changes her form so she can be there for her baby. Isn’t that what parenting is all about? Be willing to love in the form that your child wants to be loved, not necessarily the form in which you want to offer it. And sometimes it means that you have to take a step back.

Da labored in the yard to create a herb and vegetable garden to mark Mother’s Day. Ram kept whipping up one drawing after the other and didn’t tire of “surprising” me all day today. Hari made bookmarks and addressed me in tamil. It’s true you know, in a household of boys, mommy sure is the queen!

Normally, I am all for celebrating a hallmark holiday, but what a painful reminder to those that do not have a child or a mother that life is not a level playing field. Makes me want to stay low profile on this day and not make a big deal out of it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

