Family, Introspection, Life, Little Moments, Us, Work life balance

Work Travel (LMT post)

Lugging my laptop, the roll on suitcase, and my handbag, I closed the door and began  my countdown even before I left. The full and the bright moon outside put me in a cheery mood.   As I started my drive to the Amtrak train station, the heat kicked in and so did the memories of the  very ordinary moments from the earlier evening, wrapping me in a cocoon of love.

After a bit of a panic attack, with embarrassment written all over my face, the earlier evening I had confessed to Da that I had misplaced my driver’s license. The hands on practical person that he is, he rolled up his sleeves and used that as an opportunity to have my license renewed and have copies of my current one printed. This is how he knows to be there for me, with sensible, practical help. Doing and saying things that matter when I need them the most. 

Ram  had devoured a bagel, some pasta with cheese, and a mug of milk. I recall stealing glances at him feeling a rush of love as he ate with single minded focus. Plain flavorless food without vegetables is what this child prefers. I don’t let him get away with it at all times. But the few times that I do, the look of satiety on his face is priceless. 

In the evening, I had dropped Hari at his friend’s place. He told his friend’s mom, “Donald Trump is such a sexist.” Ayoooo… I cringed inwardly. Later that evening he and I talked – what does sexist mean? how are opinions formed? who will I vote for? who will he vote for? This child is so eager to be part of the grown up world and I remember being like that too. On top of that, he is growing in a different culture and at a different time, I want to be there for him in this phase without judgments, conditions, and expectations. 

As much as travelling makes me restless, it is a necessary evil workwise and personally. On the personal front, I cherish it for the distance, fondness and gratitude it creates. For reminding me, how everything is so temporary, so fleeting. The quantity of time is not in our hands, but the quality is. The only way to make the most out of our life is to live each moment. Deeply. Intentionally. Fully.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Work Travel (LMT post)

  1. “How the quantity of time is not in our hands, but the quality is. The only way to make the most out of our life is to live each moment. Deeply. Intentionally. Fully.” True, Maha! Our time is very valuable, and should be spent in high quality and fruitful ways, even if it is in simple style! 🙂

Leave a Reply

