Gratitude, Hari Katha, Learnings, Little Moments, Milestones, Now, Uncategorized

Setting Intentions

As I was hastily loading the dishwasher this evening, Hari called out for me extending his hands. For a second, I was puzzled. What is this kid up to? Why this unusual unsolicited expression of affection? And then it dawned on me.

Of late we have been following the habit of setting intentions to anchor ourselves to our true selves and to keep us grounded in the big picture. Sometimes we do this on sunday nights to get us into work week mode. At other times, we do it before exams and games. We hold each other’s’ hands, take a deep breath, close our eyes, and articulate our intentions. Like today, Hari said, “I want to strike out the hitters from the other team. Whether we win or we lose, I want to keep the right attitude and give it my all. And I want to have fun.” While how much of it translates into action is moot point, the heart of the matter is it is our way of practicing mindfulness and our attempt to look at things in perspective.

On a related note, Hari was at his personal best in his game this evening – he pitched all 6 innings- 79 pitches, at least 6 strikeouts, and gave away 2 runs. He couldn’t stop smiling. Tomorrow we will give him lessons on humility and about how success and failures are part of the game, but today he is soaring and that’s ok. Go Hari!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Setting Intentions

  1. I have always thought about how to teach mindfulness to my kids and I am impressed by the idea of stating intentions while holding hands before an activity. It seems to instill confidence and make someone feel supported at the same time. I am going to try this one with my kid at home.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • Maha says:

      Welcome here, thrilled to see your comment…! It was a bit awkward when we started but now it has become second nature.

Leave a Reply

