Experiences, Family, Hari Katha, Kids, Little Moments, Milestones, Uncategorized

Nature’s Classroom

Since this morning there were telltale signs of excitement and nervousness. Hari wrote extra Sriramajayams in his prayer book. He stuck to his little brother like a velcro, giving him tight hugs as we dropped him at preschool. He even tolerated my tardiness and willingly wore the smilie wrist band that I offered to him as a comfort item.

As we hurriedly headed to the the school entrance, he leaned on me, signaling for a hug. I had to pinch myself to make sure that I was not dreaming – is this my 11-year old asking for a hug? publicly? at the school entrance where his friends could see him in the act? Awww… my baby! A wave of affection swept over me as I hugged him and reminded him to stay safe, healthy and have fun. I reassured him that he would be ok without us around, all will be well, it’s just three days, and that he would have the time of his life. I suggested some ways to cope should he feel homesick. He was ready. I was ready. There it was the much anticipated trip of the year – Nature’s Classroom, a three-day, two-night camp for fifth graders.

I lingered for a while my eyes fixated on this little child of ours. He deftly managed his roll on, effortlessly carried his backpack, and seemed fully in control of himself. I think I got a glimpse of what it is to see your child spread his wings and soar high.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Nature’s Classroom

Leave a Reply

