Dance, Experiences, Family, Life, Uncategorized

All in a day’s work

It’s about 10:40 now. Da and the boys have drifted to glorious sleep. The focus lights in the living room is blinding.  I can hear the hum of the dishwasher. The mango that I just ate was simply delicious, almost close in taste to banganapalli from back home, leaving me sated and happy. The window sill is lined with Ram’s toys – army men, dinosaurs, and  a little wind up mouse. Seeing his toys reminds me of Ram. He has been very supportive tonight, thumbing through his books, coloring his coloring pages, eating pasta, and really entertaining himself for three full hours in my dance class without a whimper of discontent. Thinking of Ram makes me think of Hari. After two weeks of adventure hopping, the child is relieved to putter around the house, indulging in nothingness. This week is an intensive week in our house. Da’s work week is condensed. He is working 40 hours over four days and I am attending a dance workshop in the evenings. My first time ever participating in Kalakshetra style of dance, loving every minute of it. My mind has been indulging in some wishful thinking.  I wish I had the time and will to practice more. I wish I learnt faster in class. I take a deep breath. Breathe in – acknowledge, breathe out – let go, just like how a friend had advised in her post.  And just like how Lord Siva calmly holds the restless Ganges in his hair and helps her find her ground; my breath, gradually helps me find my ground reminding me to focus within and to just be. The rest will follow. 

Standard

2 thoughts on “All in a day’s work

  1. Ram is an amazing child and you have done a good job of raising a child who values your interest.
    It should have come from valuing his interests.
    Keep up the good work!
    Enjoy your dance workshop!

    • Maha says:

      So nice of you to say that, thanks! I think being a second child, he does get dragged to a number of activities for his brother and has over a period of time has learnt how to entertain himself in these situations.

      On Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 11:55 AM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

