Family, Gratitude, Life, Little Moments, Memories, Uncategorized

Relationships that matter (Gratitude Journal – Day 3)

My parents thought of Sundaram mama and mami  as their anna and manni (older brother and sis-in-law).  Sathya (my twin) and I considered S akka, their only daughter, as our elder sister.  They were our neighbors in Bhelpur, Trichy.  We have spent several nights gossiping in their house as a family, have gone to many movies together, and have coined insider jokes that only both our families understand.

Akka is one person who mails me every day. Yes. Every. Single. Day.  If there are breaks or long silences, it’s because I have slacked.  Some days, it’s a one-liner regarding day to day mundane stuff. On other occasions, we go through streaks of emails with profound conversations. She has kept me part of her everyday world and ditto with me.

Today, her daughter, who I think of as my niece visited us with her cousin. How nice it was bonding with these two smart and nice kids. This was my second time seeing P.  The last time I saw her, she was wearing her mom’s oversized chappals as a toddler (about 18 years back!). Her stay was short but sweet. We had several little moments today – skyping with akka, having P talk with my parents and brother, goofing off at Harvard campus, and eating Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. Of course, my most cherished little moment of all, Hari and Ram bonding with her and wishing that she had stayed longer. I thought it would be apt to share this drawing that P sketched for Hari 6 years back. 

kungfu

Today, I am thankful from the bottom of my heart for this relationship that has made an imprint in my life, withstood the test of time and distance, and has spanned across generations.

Standard

14 thoughts on “Relationships that matter (Gratitude Journal – Day 3)

    • Maha says:

      Thanks Laksh. The kids don’t understand the enormity of it, but as you said it is so cool that they get to experience this.

      On Thu, Nov 3, 2016 at 10:34 PM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

    • Maha says:

      Yes yes, thank you! Hope you have transitioned to your new workplace and gotten into new rhythm.

      On Fri, Nov 4, 2016 at 6:36 AM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

  1. What I am thankful for, is the friends that are around me.. like you, who remind me of such beautiful things in life. I am not good at staying in touch, especially in the “e-world”. I have always been the last one to respond to a google doodle or a birthday invite! But I know, this writeup is really not about that. Its about the willingness or rather the stubbornness of not letting people pass through the hustle and bustle of our daily crazy life.

    I am enjoying your Gratitude Journal.

    • Maha says:

      So lovely to hear from you Meera! You are fully present when you there Meera, and you are open and honest. What more could a friend ask for? I think my point was that we should cherish the relationships that stand the test of time because not all relationships are meant to be. Some just wilt with time.

Leave a Reply

