Experiences, Gratitude, Introspection, Little Moments, Uncategorized

Faith (Gratitude Journal – Day 7)

I like it when I start the day by lighting the lamp, placing boiled milk at our altar, and writing Ganesha in my prayer book. I don’t have the discipline to follow this routine every morning but when I do, it sets the right tone for the day. I start the day with humility, with the knowledge that I will be dealing with things that are within my control as well as ones that are beyond my reach.  I seek for strength, courage, forgiveness, and grace. I count my blessings.

It’s not about heaven, hell, salvation or rebirth. It’s about living this life with confidence, wisdom, kindness and gratitude. It’s about the presence of a high power that I can surrender to and take refuge in.  

I am thankful that I have a place of worship that I can go to, one that fills my heart and soul. I am thankful that as I recite my slokams for the day, I get to indulge in self- affirmations and practice setting intentions.  I am thankful that I can pick and choose to follow those rituals and traditions that give the most personal meaning to me and to us as a family. I am thankful for my faith.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Faith (Gratitude Journal – Day 7)

  1. UL says:

    Ah this I follow everyday, without fail, come rain or shine. I like the habit of writing everyday in a prayer book, I am going to start that habit, we do it once a year for Vijayadasami during navarathri, but everyday could do. I have already started on setting in the intention and checking in with my daughter in the morn and eve, and also created our own secret hand gesture ;). I have to thank you for the best/worst part of the day question at the end of the day before bed. That has become a habit for my daughter now. I started following from the first time you mentioned it years ago….thanks for sharing some wonderful ideas here.

    • Maha says:

      You are so disciplined UL. It made me happy that you still follow the best and worst part of the day question. I have to start that again with mine. We lost track of it along the way.

      On Tue, Nov 8, 2016 at 5:23 AM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

