Experiences, Family, Gratitude, Loss, Uncategorized, Us

Lunar love (Gratitude Journal – Day 13)

Did you take a glimpse of the moon tonight? Majestic, pure, simple, stunning, and tranquil. I could have sat there gazing at it all night tonight. My love for the moon is a cultivated one, not the instant kind. It all started when Da and I went on long walks at night during the first year of our married life. Da would comment on the beauty of the moon as we walked hand in hand. I remember being amused. Meaning I knew there was the sky, the sun, the moon and the stars but watching the night sky was not my thing. But several such walks later, Da’s liking for the moon rubbed on me as well. The awe makes sense to me now. There is a certain connectedness you share when you stare at a cosmic object at the same time. It’s humbling. It’s magical. It’s peaceful. 

Much thanks to Da for opening my eyes to the beauty of the full moon. It has brought many rich moments in my life. Not only do I revel in it,  but also drag the kids out to soak in its beauty. There is something comforting about that shared silence even if it lasts for only a few brief seconds.

This year we are learning about lunar calendar in Sunday school. We have been observing the waxing and waning of the moon in our moon journal.  We talked about the super moon today. As I went to leave things for trash pick up tomorrow, I looked at the gorgeous moon knowing that there will be few other fourth graders who may have made note of it as well. That thought brought a smile on my face.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Lunar love (Gratitude Journal – Day 13)

  1. UL says:

    I also liked the romance and love you associated with the moon, so warming for the soul- this Universe reflects genuine emotions so beautifully, doesn’t it?

    • Maha says:

      Didn’t think of it that way, but now that you have planted the idea, it is beautiful – you get what you see.

      On Sun, Nov 13, 2016 at 11:50 PM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

