Gratitude, Me, Uncategorized, Work life balance

Work life balance

For the past couple of years, I have been Working From Home (WFH) a lot. WFH is a double-edged sword, especially for a person like me, who slips and slides swiftly along the slippery slope of indiscipline. But thankfully, I am also a stickler for delivering on my commitments. So the traits balance each other out.

The kids have definitely benefited from my working from home. Hari hardly went to after school program in the last two years of elementary school. They have enjoyed the luxury of simply chilling at home on one-off holidays and vacations. My working from home dynamics have also helped mould their personalities and values. They know clearly that work is my priority during working hours. They know to keep quiet during my work calls, and keep themselves occupied without resorting to screen time.

I have truly lucked out when it comes to my job and my managers. If I haven’t climbed the corporate ladder, it’s for my own reasons. The company offers plenty of self development opportunities, and my managers over the years have allowed me to work without micromanaging me.

There are trade-offs to WFH. I miss being in an office environment. I miss being where the action is. I miss out on the culture aspect.  But I am ok with missing all of that because I have gained more than what I have missed.

Change is the only constant, so who knows what’s in store. For now, I offer my thanks to the flexibility and work life balance that my company has offered all these years. Much appreciated!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Work life balance

  1. UL says:

    I remember the days when it was a struggle for me – we had so many discussions about this, you, me, Shy…..so glad it has worked for you and Shy, you two are my inspiration and hats off to you for the work life balance…

  2. LG says:

    I miss professional company, but now I have been WFH for so long (18 years) that I doubt if I will be able to work for fixed hours at an outside place any more !
    I appreciate the opportunity that I have been given as well !

Leave a Reply

