Dance, Experiences, Me

Bharathanatyam

Bharatanatyam has been part of my life since second grade. I have taken many breaks (board exams, hostel stay, wedding, and child birth) but have managed to find my way back to dancing. I am not the kind that starts swaying to music or intuitively taps to the beats of a song.  I work very hard at my dance.  I practice an item several times before it becomes muscle memory. Only then do I understand the music and the beats that go along with it. It used to bother me before, but now I just accept that that’s how I learn dance and that’s ok.

I have learnt a lot about myself through my dance. It has taught me the power of practice and the beauty of being in control. Through dance, I experience different emotions at a much deeper level, be it motherhood or devotion. Dance exposes me to music that I would not have known otherwise. Through my dance class and workshops, I get to see first hand how art is made. I get to interact with folks that live and breathe this art form. I get to do things that I never knew I could. How cool is that?

For the longest time, I tried to understand why the pull to dance? Is it the comradeship? Does it quench my thirst to learn and get better at something? Has dance just become a matter of habit? Why all these years? Then I decided that the reasons don’t matter. All that matters is, I get the opportunity to dance. I dance. And for that I am thankful from the depths of my being. 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Bharathanatyam

  1. You’ve got to sing like you don’t need the money
    Love like you’ll never get hurt
    You’ve got to dance like nobody’s watchin’
    It’s gotta come from the heart if you want it to work.
    – Don William

Leave a Reply

