Uncategorized

Quotations – Day 1

A few weeks back gobblefunkist tagged me to do a 3-day quotation challenge. The task is to post three quotations on three consecutive days and tag  three bloggers on each day.  Unfortunately, I don’t follow as many bloggers these days, so going to pass on the tagging.

I love quotes, have always loved them. I used to religiously write them in an old tattered notebook that has traveled with me since high school. It used to be my constant companion through the years and I took a lot of pride in jotting down quotations, sayings, articles and words that moved me in that journal.  I even brought the book with me when I moved to the US. While the old book is safely tucked in the book shelf, the collection of quotes over the past few years have gone digital.

Without much adieu, presenting to you today’s quote, the Serenity prayer

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

Courage to change the things I can,

And wisdom to know the difference.

Whenever I say this prayer, I am filled with a sense of calm, an extra measure of strength, and a boatload of faith. You control what you can and what you cannot control, you accept and let go. 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Quotations – Day 1

  1. SS says:

    Maha,

    No wonder I connect with your writing. This is my most favorite prayer. I read it for the first time when I picked it up in a garage sale as a little wall hanging at a University student housing garage sale shortly after I moved to the US about 25 years ago.

    Over the years, so far this is what seems to encapsulate the essence of life in the most simple way for me. Things happen to us mostly in one of two ways. One as a result of our actions (which to me is the “courage to change the things I can”). Second, that we don’t have control over – which is also referred to as karma, destiny etc., (which to me is “accept the things I cannot change”).

    As simple as the Serenity Prayer is, it has a profound meaning.

    Best,

    SS

Leave a Reply

