Learnings, Life, Writing

Quotations – Day 3

The Sunday school is held at the local high school. Before going to my class, I generally stop by the “Collage of Voices” board where comments from high schoolers (from regular school) are posted anonymously. The theme seems to vary periodically and captures the voices of the kids on matters that matter to them. Eg. what stresses them and how do they destress.

Every weekend, I linger in that area to read and reread the collage by way of grounding myself in reality. Hari will be in high school before we know it. He will have enough stress of his own. The last thing that we want to do is weigh him down with our expectations and judgments. Easier said than done, which is why I go here often so I can internalise the messages that these kids are brave enough to voice out.

Today, the board had the following comments under the topic “Words of Wisdom”

voices1voices2

Standard

6 thoughts on “Quotations – Day 3

    • Maha says:

      For me, the piece where one kid says – it was helpful that my parents gave me the freedom to learn for myself while making sure I was still on task – I aspire to be that parent. Giving freedom comes easily for me, but need to work on the piece around making sure they are staying on task.

      • “Giving freedom”. I have a huge problem with that phrase. Freedom cannot be given. It is there. It can just be taken away. I learned this the hard way when one of my aunts went postal on me when I said I give my daughter freedom to do what she wants and flared up with “Who are you to give anyone their freedom?” Lesson learned. I pass it on freely as well !

    • Maha says:

      Deeply grateful for the timely nag – just when my blog is heading in the direction of hibernation. Will steer it away…!

      PS: The comment brought a smile on my face! Thank you.

      On Sun, Dec 18, 2016 at 11:34 PM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

