Experiences, Gratitude, Introspection, Learnings, Life, Me, Now, Wishes

Word of the year

For 2015, the word of the year was Discipline. The year taught me that I have a hard time being disciplined because I am an inherently indisciplined person. And I realized that striving for Discipline is a lifelong ongoing effort for me rather than something I can master in a year. So the quest continues.

For 2016, the word of the year was Detox. Relative to 2015, I did much better in terms of sticking to the intention. But I was unable to keep up the momentum in spite of having practiced it aggressively for the first six months. I knew I was slipping, I kept telling myself that I need to pick myself up. But somehow the mind has a mind of it’s own and it sabotaged my voice of reason. And that’s ok. It just means that I need to work a lot harder than what I thought.

For 2017, I am  choosing Mindfulness. I want to know my mind and if feasible, befriend it so I can help it to help me. I want to be aware when the mind is running helter skelter and gently bring it back to the present moment and to the current task.  I am also choosing this word because I am a big picture person, which has its pros and cons. Pros being I am generally easy going, I can take a step back from a situation with some effort and I do not sweat the small stuff for the most part.  Cons being I do not pay close attention to details, I can be blissfully clueless about so many things, and most importantly, I am not living life in all its richness. So I am going to give a shot at beginning the practice of living a mindful life.  

If you are reading this and if you feel up to it, I would love to know your intentions for the new year. Here is to new beginnings, opportunities, experiences and intentions. 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Word of the year

    • Maha says:

      Yes, yes…! Do pass on some meditation gyaan you have gathered over past year’s practice.

      On Sun, Jan 1, 2017 at 1:18 AM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

  1. ss says:

    Maha,

    Inspired by all of you I am picking “Strengthen” – my mind, body and soul. This will be my goal for the next several years as I transition into the next phase of my life – empty nester and getting older. I want to be able to do it gracefully.

    SS

    • Maha says:

      That’s a terrific word SS. Nobody is immune to aging, so might as well do it with grace. Do share your learnings with me here. Best wishes!

      On Tue, Jan 3, 2017 at 12:13 PM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

