Detox, Experiences, Food, Health and fitness

Jan. reflection

I am doing ok with my word of the year – Mindfulness, thanks to the Nutriage workshop that I am signed up for. We are in the third and final week of the workshop. Strike 1 was gluten and processed food. Strike 2 was dairy and caffeine. Strike 3 is sugar and grain. So this week I am on a gluten-free, dairy-free, grain-free, caffeine-free, added sugar-free meal plan. The goal is to detox and reduce inflammation. For the most part, I am chugging along. Today, I missed black mission figs that I tend to treat myself to after lunch and dinner and craved for some dairy. The temptation passed. Also, this time around, I have been focusing on portion control. This is something that I have struggled with for a long time. One thing that is helping is eating mindfully. When I am eating, I am not doing anything else. Secondly, I have come to realize that the Law of Diminishing Utility truly applies to eating. The first bite is always tastier than the second, the second tastier than the third and the third tastier than the fourth. So overeating has lost its charm.

As part of the workshop, we are required to do some physical activity and meditation. I have not been as steadfast with physical activity but have been enjoying some meditation led by Tara Brach. Do give her a try if you get a chance.

That’s it for now. Take care!

Standard

Leave a Reply

