Uncategorized

Hello

Over the past decade or so of blogging,  I have come to accept and embrace my blogging pattern. I am a blogger that writes in spurts.  I go through phases of itching to write, wanting  to give voice to my thoughts and share it with the whole wide world.  And just as I get into that rhythm of blogging, writing loses it meaning. I run out of topics and enthusiasm, the charm wears off. Thankfully, if I stay away for too long, the itch strikes back and I come hopping to my digital home as I would to a good old friend.

The days have been a blur for the past several weeks. The second half of January and the month of February are particularly tough, with things ramping up on all fronts, deadlines to chase and tackle, and not to mention having to manage the unpredictable winter and battle the pesky germs. The ruthless non-negotiable nature of routine is both comforting and burdensome. Holding us together while pushing us to break free. 

The kids are home this week for winter break. Hari has enough projects to keep him potentially occupied, so he is careful not to mention that he is bored lest he be reminded of the said projects. Ram is a child of leisure. He plonks himself on the couch and stares at the ceiling for an hour, then he gets up and lays down on the other side to flip his pokemon book. Then he spends some time whispering in our ears “roses are red, violets are blue”,  he then heads out to the front yard and explores the parts of the lawn that has more snow and comes up with a theory around it.

It’s so very nice to see the kids with sparkle in their eyes, and naughtiness in their acts, much of which was lacking last week with cold and coughing bouts. 

I am working on multiple things at work and time is a constraint. I feel slightly inadequate that I am not taking the kids anywhere or doing anything fun with them, and that they will not have anything exciting to report in circle time once the school reopens. I brush that voice aside knowing that it’s my guilt projecting that image, not the kids experiencing boredom.

I hope all of you are keeping well in your neck of the woods. Anything happening (politics aside) or not happening in your world that you care to share?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Hello

    • Maha says:

      You are the best…! I need to nagged, pushed, nudged, poked an what not to get things done – even for things that I want to do or love to do. Thanks for being the nudger. I intend to write frequently rest of the month. I too love how Ram can just Be. I look at him like a passer by and savor his ability to present second hand.

Leave a Reply

