Experiences, Gratitude, Milestones, Ram Leela, Reading

Drum rolls please!

yRam: Mom, why are you using baby soap for me?

Me: Who said that this is baby soap?

Ram: See, it says on the bottle.

Me: I did not read that Ram. But are you able to read what’s written on the bottle? You can read now?

Ram: Yes amma. I can read three or four letters. But not difficult complicated words. I read by myself when you are not around.

Me: Can you please read to me this evening, that would make me soooo happy!

I love this age and stage when learning is curiosity and not necessity driven. When there are no have to, just want to in a child’s vocabulary. When learning happens naturally and effortless. Ram has been picture walking for the longest time and I have wondered if picture walking had become a crutch that was holding him back from reading words. Even if it were, I think it’s still a good thing because he got to experience the book the way he wanted to. He read the 10 Apples up on top from the first to the last page last night. A smile slipping through the corner of his mouth and a sense of pride glinting in his eyes. Yay Ram, yay to a lifetime of reading…! May your love for the written word last forever.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Drum rolls please!

  1. YAY. I think the GREATEST milestone is when the child begins to read. It opens up a whole new world for everyone involved. I think the one (probably only) good parenting thing I did in life was make V start reading early (~3). I may have done it to get out of the chore of reading to her, but I’d rather gloss over that ! Congratulations to both of you.

    • Maha says:

      Thanks Gobblefunksite. Ram has taught me that reading can take so many forms. I never realized what a crucial role illustrators provide to little readers. But reading sure has opened up a new world for him. Reading name boards, street signs and what not!

      On Thu, Feb 23, 2017 at 2:13 AM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

  2. ss says:

    Maha,

    I missed your writing…

    Congrats to Ram and you! Reading to and with our kids is very special and has many many benefits.

    I read and read and read some more to my kids from when they were a baby to when they were almost 7 or 8. It was our time to relax and cuddle in the evening after I came home from work and after all our evening chores were done. That would be my fondest parenting memory.

    But I did learn that reading to your kids does not make them become avid readers. At least mine did not. It took me a long time to understand that not everyone needs to or will pick up reading as a hobby. I was an avid reader growing up, and no one ever read to me. I used to beg and borrow books from anyone and everyone to keep my book supply coming. I used to ransack my school library cupboards. My parents have not gotten a single book for me 🙂

    There were a lot of other soft benefits from that ritual though.

    Best,
    SS

    • Maha says:

      So nice hearing from you SS and knowing more about you. I hear you SS. The reading served a purpose – it gave you the gift of bonding,

      On Fri, Feb 24, 2017 at 12:00 AM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

