SYW

Sharing Your World

I am itching to write detailed posts but I am up to my eye balls for the foreseeable future. I am thankful for Cee’s weekly questions. It is getting me into the habit of reflecting and writing at least once a week. Thank you Cee!

When you’re alone at home, do you wear shoes, socks, slippers, or go barefoot? I really wish I could walk barefoot at all times when I am at home. But I get cold very easily, so you will find me in socks 10 out of 12 months. The remaining 2 months I walk barefoot at home, whether I am alone or with company.

What was your favorite food when you were a child? Hot piping sathumadhu sadam with avakai orugai – used to love the sight of the vizhudhu floating on my soupy rice! I will confess though as a grown up the tangy hearty sambar/khozhambhu has become my go to food.

Are you a listener or talker? It depends on the  person at the other end of the conversation. If he or she has the need to talk/share/express, I am happy to just listen. If he or she would like to know my thoughts/opinion/general life updates, I get into talking mode. I strongly believe that listening non-judgmentally to someone is the best way to be there for that person.  So I  take the business of listening very seriously. I have noticed that I tend to be eager to talk when I come from a place of conviction. .

Favorite thing to (pick one):  Photograph?  Write? Or Cook? I am interpreting this question to mean what is your favorite thing to photograph, write, and cook (ok I changed the question a bit). Photograph – candid pictures of children, I particularly love to capture the expression of intense focus and unbridled joy on little faces. Write – people stories. Cook – condiments (chutneys, dips, pickles, podis, and sauces).

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Grateful for the first new friend that I made in the US 15 years back. I assimilated into this culture as I bonded with her. Her friendship is a assuring presence in my life that I don’t take for granted.  I met up with her for a movie and dinner (watched Gifted and had Thai) last week . Felt like us from 15 years ago!  

Looking forward to less mental chatter and clutter this week.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Sharing Your World

  1. Whoa…saathumadhu sadam with avakkai with vizudhu floating. God, I thought I was the only one. I mean, who’d have thought something as weird as that could have TWO people salivating?

Leave a Reply

