Detox, Food, Gratitude, Health and fitness, Me

Fitness Diary – Day 3

With all the banging, drilling and thumping in the house due to construction activities, the day seemed busier than it actually was. It was a noisy day, literally and figuratively.

Eats – went ok. Same oats and berries for breakfast and quinoa salad for lunch. Had roasted poha-nuts-raisin for snack. I missed my evening tea but hanging in there. Dinner was dosai with avocado filling, and beans and sambar on the side. The workshop calls for gluten free menu, so no wheat based products. Dessert was mango and dried figs.

Exercise – 20  mins of jogging. Meditation – 9 mins. Hydration – didn’t keep count but I think I hit the 8 cups mark.

Today’s focus in the workshop was sleep. How well do you sleep? Is getting to bed a challenge for you? You all know that I need my 8 hours of beauty sleep. If I don’t get it, I end up in a vicious cycle of crankiness, high caffeine intake, general lack of discipline, and sleep debt. I don’t get the 8 hours of sleep on most days because either my commitments are demanding or the day has been so intensive that I need to unwind with some Netflix binging. While I cannot always control the former, I can manage the latter. I think I should practice hitting the sack before 10:00 every night.

Things that I offer gratitude for today.

  • I had three work calls today and I made the bad decision to work from home. Thankfully, the construction related noise was not as loud when I had to speak during the call.
  • My thanks to the wonderful wonderful world of podcasts. How would I manage all the dishwashing and the cleaning without the entertainment? In particular, I am thankful to Gretchen and Liz for their weekly Happier podcast, their podcast truly makes me happy. It’s like bantering with your girlfriends. It’s light but not fluffy.
  • Last but not the least, I am thankful for the Nutriage workshop. I have made some incremental lifestyle changes as result of this workshop over the years. And in the short-term, it gives me the focus and discipline I need to get back on track when I go astray.
Standard

2 thoughts on “Fitness Diary – Day 3

  1. Super. I don’t think I can match your food habits, but it gives me the motivation to be more mindful about the food I cook. I need eight hours too, but my sleep discipline has been dismal because my family (both husband and kid) are very late sleepers, and somehow I can’t hit the sack when they are up and about.
    My urgent need is a better sleep pattern. I want to sleep by 10.30 and be up by six.

    • Maha says:

      The thing is I don’t have the bandwidth for long workouts, so I have to give it my all for eats. Even there I am not as good at portion control. But change is slow, so have to be patient with myself and do whatever it takes.

      On Thu, Sep 7, 2017 at 1:21 AM, Thoughts Unlimited wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

